HRMC Honors Reimer and Langbehn at Annual Awards Celebration

HURON, SD – Huron Regional Medical Center (HRMC) presented the annual Exceptional Employee of the Year Award and Mickey Mouse Award at the hospital’s Employee Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on Friday, January 12, 2024, at the Huron Event Center. 42 employees with milestone service anniversaries ranging from 5 to 45 years were also honored at the event. Their combined years of service totaled 755 years of commitment to HRMC and the health of our community.

Employees enjoyed a meal while reflecting on the 75th year of existence for the hospital and celebrating the care provided by all in attendance. Employees caring for patients overnight during the event received a meal voucher for a Huron restaurant or grocery store to celebrate the occasion.
In addition to the service awards, HRMC recognized two employees with special awards. Jenny Reimer, RN, wound care nurse, who also received an award for 40 years of service to HRMC, was selected by the HRMC board of directors to be the 2023 Exceptional Employee of the Year. Each exceptional employee of the month is eligible for the Employee of the Year Award.

“Jenny does an exceptional job when treating my wounds and is kind and honest. She not only listens to me, but talks to me about the things she knows are of interest to me during treatment,” noted the patient who nominated Jenny for the award. The nomination continued, “She always answers my questions, making sure that I fully understand and makes each patient feel as though they are the only person on her mind.”
Upon receiving the award, Reimer, who is transitioning to an as-needed basis at HRMC, remarked, “It is not often when your passion and your career are one in the same and I am truly blessed to say I have had that. I will be forever grateful to all the patients and staff I have worked with over the years who have helped me to grow and continue to learn on a daily basis.”

Reimer lives on an acreage south of Huron. In her spare time, she enjoys riding horses, gardening, spending time in the Black Hills and enjoying her grandchildren.

Receiving the 2023 Mickey Mouse Award was Emma Langbehn, employee experience manager, who has worked at HRMC just over one year. The Mickey Mouse Award began in 1989 in memory of Dr. David Buchanan whose uplifting personality and contagious smile were an inspiration to all that knew him. Each year, an HRMC employee who is dedicated to making people feel better in whatever they do is selected by their coworkers.
Langbehn was nominated by several peers for her contagiously positive attitude, desire to lift the spirits of those in her presence, and exhibiting genuine care and concern for colleagues and others.

Langbehn, who was instrumental in planning the awards celebration, was surprised with the award as she understood another employee was to be honored. “I was surprised and humbled. There are so many deserving individuals at HRMC.” When asked about her positive attitude and outlook, she replied, “I like making others smile and believe work should be a place where people are happy and thriving.”
Langbehn resides in Mitchell with her husband Brendan. In their spare time, they enjoy ice fishing, hunting and outdoor activities.

Other nominees for the Mickey Mouse Award included:
• Katherine Huntley-Gomez, Emergency Room
• Michelle Carlson, Pro Rehab
• Michelle Pitman, Central Scheduling
• Dr. Kristen Hughes, Hospitalist
• Sheri Beckwith, Home Care
• Candi Todd, Food Service
• Trisha Pekron, Surgery
• Eric Wangsness, Radiology

Other employees honored at the awards ceremony for service anniversary awards included:
5 Years
• Casey Glanzer, Obstetrical Unit
• Desirae Oxandaburu, Medical
• Brandee Einck, Quality/Risk
• Bill Smallwood, Plant Operations
• Marlee Hattervig, Medical
• Samantha LaFreniere, Medical
• Kristina Tebay, Education
• Dr. Mark Belyea, Physicians Clinic
• Nicole Kelsey, Pro Rehab
• Tessa Florey, Medical
• Mati Felderman, Marketing
• Chase Walder, Anesthesia
• Chelsie Babl, Physicians Clinic
• Brittany Zwanziger, Surgery
• Kathy Roti, Home Care
• Tauree Peterson, Pro Rehab

10 Years
• Bobbi Hofer, Materials Management
• Jill Dunbar, Obstetrical Unit
• Elizabeth Watson, Home Care
• Susan Fuerst, Pro Rehab
• Tyler Shoultz, Radiology

15 Years
• Jennifer Gross, Surgery
• Trisha Pekron, Surgery
• Nancy Schwartz, Environmental Services

20 Years
• Chad Moser, Radiology
• Kim Rieger, Administration
• Karen Springer, Social Services
• Tammy Nelson, Business Office
• Adele Flanery, Pro Rehab
• Saren Kahre, Pro Rehab
• Kelly Burke, Pro Rehab

30 Years
• Joel Nelson, Finance
• Janna Rose, Materials Management
• Shane Price, Plant Operations
• Kim Keleher, Emergency Room
• Marilyn Yost, Environmental Services

35 Years
• Vicki Diekhoff, Central Scheduling
• Michelle Carlson, Pro Rehab

40 Years
• Jenny Reimer, Wound Care
• Wanda Hoffman, Business Office

45 Years
• Crystal Bender, Central Scheduling
• Ginger Neitzert, Emergency Room


Photo Cutlines:

2023 Exceptional Employee of the Year, Jenny Reimer, RN

2023 HRMC Mickey Mouse Award Winner Emma Langbehn